OFFICIAL MINUTES
REGULAR MEETING
BOARD OF EDUCATIONAL
SERVICE UNIT NO. 13

The regular meeting of the Board of Educational Service Unit No. 13 (ESU 13) was called to order by President Mark Sinner on Tuesday, June 15, 2021, at 7:00 PM at the Harms Center, 2620 College Park, Room 188, Scottsbluff, NE. Meeting notice was published in the Star-Herald on Thursday June 10, 2021.

President Sinner referenced the Nebraska Open Meetings Act as posted and noted that the Board reserves the right to rearrange the order of the agenda and to convene an executive session in accordance with § 84-1410.

Present: Diane Coon, Heather Crofutt, Steve Diemoz, Don Egging, Tim Horn, Patricia Jones, Bill Knapper, Scott Marsh, Kim Marx, Tom Millette, Ray Richards, Mark Sinner, Dr. Andrew Dick - Administrator, Jodi Walker - Business Manager, and Desira Martin - Treasurer. Guests: Dr. Laura Barrett.

Absent: None.

Moved by Marsh, seconded by Egging, that the agenda be approved as listed. Aye: Coon, Crofutt, Diemoz, Horn, Jones, Knapper, Marx, Millette, Richards, Sinner. Nay: none. Absent: none. Motion passed.

Moved by Millette, seconded by Jones, that consent action items be approved as listed (Minutes of May meeting, Treasurer's Report, Fund Balance Report, Budget Summary Report, staff travel, and claims). Aye: Crofutt, Diemoz, Egging, Horn, Knapper, Marsh, Marx, Richards, Sinner, Coon. Absent: none. Motion passed.

The following General Fund claims were approved for payment:

June 15, 2021 Claims	
Salaries, Benefits	\$898,769.50
Prof. & Tech. Services; Mileage	\$106,265.37
Leases, Utilities & Maintenance	\$20,049.37
Copies, Postage, Telephone & Travel	\$108,631.70
Supplies, Materials, Software & other Util.	\$74,626.18
Bldg. Improvements, Furn., Equipment, Hardware, Vehicle Acquisition	\$156,938.50
Transfer for Investments	\$600,000.00
Dues, Fees & Ind. Costs	\$66,078.98
Total	\$2,031,359.60

Calendar items were discussed.

No public forum.

Reports:

Head Start Director's Report for May - no discussion. The Policy Council did not meet in May.

Administrator's Report:

- A summary of ESU 13's efforts towards compliance with Rule 11 as well as the required supporting evidence was submitted to Dr. Blomstedt and Melody Hobson at NDE. On Friday, June 4th, the State Board of Education approved the waiver request.
- ESU 13 received official notification that the State Board of Education voted at their meeting on May 7, 2021, to grant the Commissioner of Education the authority to approve the application and classify ESU 13 as accredited based on our assurance of compliance with the provisions of Rule 84. This status is in effect for the period of July 1, 2021 through June 30, 2022.

Board Member Comments: Scott Marsh thanked Maggie Bernal for the Mexican food dinner she provided for tonight's meeting. Members of the Board thanked Dr. Dick for his work as Administrator for the past two years and wished him success as Superintendent of Scottsbluff Public Schools.

Old Business: none.

New Business:

Moved by Knapper, seconded by Diemoz, that the Board approve the revision of Article 1, Section 6.C.2.d-e (Administration). Aye: Egging, Horn, Jones, Marsh, Marx, Millette, Richards, Sinner, Coon, Crofutt. Nay: none. Absent: none. Motion passed.

Moved by Horn, seconded by Coon, that the Board approve the revision of Board Policy Article 2, Section 8 (Board Meetings). Aye: Egging, Jones, Knapper, Marsh, Marx, Millette, Richards, Sinner, Crofutt, Diemoz. Nay: none. Absent: none. Motion passed.

Moved by Marsh, seconded by Millette, that the Board approve the revision of Board Policy Article 3, Section 5 (Purchasing), and Article 6, Section 5 (Student Health). Aye: Horn, Jones, Knapper, Marx, Richards, Sinner, Coon, Crofutt, Diemoz, Egging. Nay: none. Absent: none. Motion passed.

Moved by Richards, seconded by Marx, that the Board approve the revision of Board Policy Article 4, Section 4 (Fitness for Duty), and Article 5, Section 2 (Section 504 Compliance). Aye: Jones, Knapper, Marsh, Millette, Sinner, Coon, Crofutt, Diemoz, Egging, Horn. Nay: none. Absent: none. Motion passed.

Moved by Marx, seconded by Marsh, that the Board approve the revision of Board Policy Article 5, Section 1 (Non-Discrimination). Aye: Knapper, Millette, Richards, Sinner, Coon, Crofutt, Diemoz, Egging, Horn, Jones. Nay: none. Absent: none. Motion passed.

Proposed new Board Policy - Article 3, Section 4 (Funds Management) was introduced. No action necessary.

Moved by Jones, seconded by Knapper, that the Board approve the contract for consultative medical services for MIPS with Dr. Cynthia Guerue. Aye: Marsh, Marx, Millette, Richards, Sinner, Coon, Crofutt, Diemoz, Egging, Horn. Nay: none. Absent: none. Motion passed.

Moved by Coon, seconded by Richards, that the Board approve Region 7's appointment of Krystie Honstein as Interim Director of the Head Start program. Aye: Marx, Millette, Sinner, Crofutt, Diemoz, Egging, Horn, Jones, Knapper, Marsh. Nay: none. Absent: none. Motion passed.

Moved by Diemoz, seconded by Egging, that the Board approve the 2021-2022 Panhandle Beginnings Day Treatment, Meridian, and LifeLink Student Handbooks. Aye: Millette, Richards, Sinner, Coon, Crofutt, Horn, Jones, Knapper, Marsh, Marx. Nay: none. Absent: none. Motion passed.

Moved by Richards, seconded by Crofutt, that the Board approve the Administrator's

recommendation to purchase one 2021-2022 Chevrolet Equinox from Team Auto Center in the amount of \$24,324, and two 2021-2022 Chevrolet Malibu vehicles from Team Auto Center in the amount of \$37,398, for a grand total of \$61,722. Aye: Sinner, Coon, Diemoz, Egging, Horn, Jones, Knapper, Marsh, Marx, Millette. Nay: none. Absent: none. Motion passed.

Moved by Marsh, seconded by Millette, that the Board approve the addendum to The Terry and Hazeldeane Carpenter Intergenerational Center lease for a two-year extension for the location of the Panhandle Beginnings Day Treatment program. Aye: Sinner, Coon, Crofutt, Diemoz, Egging, Horn, Jones, Knapper, Marx, Richards. Nay: None. Absent: none. Motion passed.

Moved by Horn, seconded by Knapper, that the Board approve the 2021-2022 Employee Handbook. Aye: Coon, Crofutt, Diemoz, Egging, Jones, Marsh, Marx, Millette, Richards, Sinner. Nay: none. Absent: none. Motion passed.

Moved by Egging, seconded by Knapper, that the above listed minutes be approved as read. Aye: Crofutt, Diemoz, Horn, Jones, Marsh, Marx, Millette, Richards, Sinner, Coon. Nay: none. Absent: none. Motion passed.

President Sinner declared the regular meeting adjourned. Next regular meeting will be held on Tuesday, July 20, 2021. Due to a construction project at the Main Office, the meeting will be held at the Harms Center, 2620 College Park, Room 188, Scottsbluff, NE.